Wild Wonders of China is an initiative which seeks to bring you the wild side of China, with fascinating wildlife and spectacular places that most people don’t even know exist. It is supported by Fondation Iris.

 

OCEANIC TAIWAN

TAIWAN - DECEMBER 2017

Three weeks capturing Taiwan’s dynamic ocean: Taiwan is a spectacular island with a chilly northern coastline, islands in the east bathing in clear blue water, a dynamic peninsula in the south and Taiwan’s turtle island, Xiao Liuqiu, on the west side where sea turtles are so numerous.

 

 

MEILI & BAIMA SNOW MOUNTAIN NATURE RESERVES

YUNNAN - OCTOBER 2017

The Three Parallel Rivers Region is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, located in northwestern Yunnan Province in China. With widely varying temperatures and rainfalls, and with elevations ranging from 1000 up to the 6740 meters Mount Kawagebo, it may be the most biologically diverse temperate region on the planet. It is home to many endemic species of animals, birds and plants. It is the very epicenter of rhododendron and azalea development, and it is also geologically diverse, with karst, sandstone, and granite formations all occurring here. The region is home to charismatic wildlife such as snow-leopard, clouded leopard, tibetan brown bear, otter, takin, muntjac and many more. The world’s highest-dwelling non-human primate, the Yunnan snub-nosed monkey, lives there as well as several other very local primates. It is, simply put, a treasure of himalayan biodiversity.

 

 

YANGXIAN NATURE RESERVE

SHAANXI - SEPTEMBER 2017

The Taibaishan area, of almost 1000 sq km, is number 11 of the original “Minor Dongtian’s” from 400-500 AD, all then officially protected by the Emperor of the Tang Dynasty in 725 AD. Dongtians, or “Cave Heavens”, are de facto nature reserves from early Taoist times, and this has been a protected area since almost 1600 years. The Dongtian system of ancient nature reserves, with in all 157 "Cave Heavens" is one of the main reasons that wonderful animals like the Great panda and the Golden snub-nosed monkey survived into our times and were not all killed hundreds of years ago. This is the by far oldest of all protected area networks in the world. The Golden snub-nosed monkey (Rhinopithecus roxellana) is now increasing in numbers in large part of its distribution area, thanks to modern chinese nature conservation actions. One of Chinas wildlife comeback species!

 

 

TONGBIGUAN NATURE RESERVE

DEHONG, YUNNAN - APRIL 2017

Dehong prefecture is the “Biodiversity Hotspot” of China, where the himalayan, central chinese, and indo-malayan species all meet. The area near the Myanmar border holds some of the more intact rainforests in the region, a biosphere reserve known in chinese as Tongbiguan. It is home to myriad species of wildlife, including gibbons, other rare monkeys, and giant squirrels. It is also part of the area that birders refer to as the "Golden triangle of birding," and several endemic species of birds can be found here. The flagship species are without doubt the three hornbill-species (Great, Wreathed and Oriental pied hornbill) and the difficult to find pheasant species (Kalij pheasant, Grey peacock pheasant, and Jungle fowl).

 

TAIGA FOREST

HEILONGJIANG - JULY 2016

Heilongjiang is a province in the Northeast of China, bordering to Russian Siberia, with vast tracts of boreal forest. Here the great Northern Boreal forest belt, or the Taiga, reaches its southeastern limit. The Taiga then stretches from here all the way west to Scandinavia and northeast to Vladivostok.

 

 

UNKNOWN HONG KONG

HONG KONG - JUNE 2016

Hong Kong is surrounded by coast, wetland, rainforest and a surprisingly vibrant sea, which is populated with colourful fish and many other creatures. That is an urban underwater wildlife scene, unknown to many people living just a stone's throw away. It is a place full of reptiles and amphibians of many different kinds. Three of the reptiles here are endemic.

 

 

TAOIST BEIYUE HENGSHAN

SHANXI - MAY 2016

Beiyue Hengshan is an ancient Taoist and Buddhist sacred temple mountain in the Shanxi province, called "The Eternal". As one of the first protected areas in the world, it was declared a "Cave Heaven", "Dongtien Fudi", already some 1800 years ago and has been protected ever since. It is today a National Park.

 

 

MONGOLIAN GREAT STEPPES

INNER MONGOLIA - MAY 2016

An assignment by Wild Wonders of China to photograph steppe and semi-desert wildlife in Inner Mongolia. In the land of wide green grasslands, dry steppes, arid semi-deserts and rolling mountains. Especially the birdlife was abundant.

 

 

TANGJIAHE NATURE RESERVE

SICHUAN - APRIL 2015

Tangjiahe National Nature Reserve is one of China’s  finest wildlife areas, with rich biodiversity and impressive numbers of large mammals. The area is protected since 1978, resulting in a remarkable wildlife comeback. With increasing numbers of animals and birds becoming less shy and less afraid of humans, a trip to Tangjiahe allows the visitor to regularly see a wide variety of wildlife. Species like takin, Reeves’s muntjac, goral and wild boar can be seen on a daily basis, and species like himalayan black bear, tufted deer, serow, and eurasian otter are spotted frequently. With real luck, visitors may even catch a glimpse of animals like giant panda, wolf, or leopard. The bird life is magnificent and rich, with beautiful Chinese  flagship species like the golden pheasant and Temminck’s tragopan among its top attractions. Due to its exceptional diversity of wildlife,Tangjiahe was selected as the area for the first Pioneer Expedition by the Wild Wonders of China team.

 

 

Fondation Iris, 40 avenue Hoche, 75008 - Paris, France

Wild Wonders of China est une initiative soutenue par la Fondation Iris, qui a pour but  de faire connaître le côté sauvage de la Chine, sa faune fascinante et ses paysages spectaculaires, dont peu de gens soupçonnent l’existence.

 

TAIWAN CÔTÉ OCÉAN

TAIWAN - DÉCEMBRE 2017

Une mission de trois semaines pour photographier l’océan méconnu de Taïwan, une île spectaculaire avec un littoral froid au nord, de petites îles baignées d'eau bleue transparente à l'est, une péninsule au sud et l'île de Xiao Liuqiu  à l’ouest où les tortues sont particulièrement nombreuses.

 

LES TROIS FLEUVES PARALLÈLLES

YUNNAN - OCTOBRE 2017

La région des trois fleuves parallèles est un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO situé dans la province du nord-ouest du Yunnan en Chine. Avec des températures et des précipitations très variables, et avec des altitudes allant de 1000 à 6740 mètres au Mont Kawagebo, elle est l’une des régions  tempérées les plus riches en biodiversité de la planète. Elle abrite de nombreuses espèces endémiques d'animaux, d'oiseaux et de plantes. C'est l'épicentre même du développement des rhododendrons et des azalées. La région abrite une faune charismatique comme la panthère des neiges, la panthère nébuleuse, l'ours brun d’Asie, la loutre, le takin, le muntjac de Reeves et bien d'autres encore. Le primate non humain vivant le plus haut au monde, le rhinopithèque brun du Yunnan, vit là-bas ainsi que plusieurs autres primates très locaux. C'est un vrai trésor de la biodiversité himalayenne.

 

RÉSERVE NATURELLE DE YANGXIAN

SHAANXI - SEPTEMBRE 2017

La région de Taibaishan, de près de 1000 km2, est le onzième des 36 sites secondaires des « Grotte-Cieux et Sites propices » datant de 400-500 apr. J.-C, tous officiellement protégés par l'empereur de la dynastie Tang en 725 apr. J.-C. Les Dongtians, ou «Grottes-Cieux», sont des réserves naturelles de facto des premiers temps taoïstes, ce qui en a fait des zones protégées depuis près de 1600 ans. Le système dongtien de ces réserves naturelles anciennes, avec en tout 157 « Grotte-Cieux »  est l'une des principales raisons pour lesquelles des animaux comme le panda géant et le rhinopithèque de Roxellane ont survécu jusqu’à nos jours. C'est de loin le plus ancien de tous les réseaux d'aires protégées dans le monde. Le rhinopithèque de Roxellane se développe aujourd'hui en nombre dans une grande partie de son aire de répartition, grâce aux programmes modernes de conservation de la nature chinoise.

 

 

RÉSERVE NATURELLE DE TONGBIGUAN

DEHONG, YUNNAN - AVRIL 2017

La préfecture de Dehong est le «point chaud de la biodiversité» de la Chine, où les espèces himalayennes, de Chine centrale et indo-malaises se rencontrent. La zone située près de la frontière du Myanmar abrite certaines des forêts tropicales les plus intactes de la région, une réserve de biosphère connue en chinois sous le nom de Tongbiguan. Elle abrite une multitude d'espèces d'animaux sauvages, dont des gibbons, d'autres singes rares et des écureuils géants. Elle fait également partie de la zone que les ornithologues appellent le « triangle d'or des ornithologues » avec nombre d'espèces endémiques d'oiseaux. Les espèces phares sont sans aucun doute les trois espèces de calaos (le calao bicorne, le calao festonné et et le calao pie) et les espèces de faisans difficiles à trouver (le faisan leucomèle, l'éperonnier chinquis et le coq bankiva).

 

LA TAÏGA

HEILONGJIANG - JUILLET 2016

Le Heilongjiang est une province du nord-est de la Chine, limitrophe de la Sibérie russe, recouverte de vastes étendues de forêt boréale. Ici, la grande ceinture forestière boréale nordique, ou taïga, atteint sa limite sud-est. La taïga s'étend ensuite à l'ouest jusqu’en Scandinavie et au nord-est jusqu'à Vladivostok.

 

LA FACE CACHÉE DE HONG KONG

HONG KONG - JUIN 2016

La ville de Hong Kong est entourée de zones humides, de forêt tropicale et d'une mer étonnamment vivante, peuplée de poissons multicolores et de nombreuses autres créatures, une  faune sous-marine urbaine, inconnue de nombreuses personnes vivant à deux pas. C'est un endroit où vivent de nombreux reptiles et des amphibiens de toutes sortes.

 

LE MONT HENG (HENGSHAN)

SHANXI - MAY 2016

Le mont Heng (Hengshan) est  l'une des cinq montagnes sacrées de Chine, aussi connu sous le nom de montagne du Nord. La région du Mont Heng est l’une des premières aires protégées du monde. Elle l’a été il y a 1800 ans quand elle a été déclarée "grotte-ciel" (dongtian), lieu sacré du taoïsme.

 

STEPPE EURASIENNE

MONGOLIE INTÉRIEURE - MAI 2016

Une mission pour aller photographier la steppe et la faune semi-désertique en Mongolie intérieure, au pays des vastes prairies verdoyantes, des steppes sèches, des semi-déserts arides et des montagnes vallonnées. L'avifaune était la plus abondante.

 

RÉSERVE NATURELLE DE TANGJIAHE

SICHUAN - AVRIL 2015

La réserve naturelle nationale de Tangjiahe est l'une des plus belles de Chine, avec une riche biodiversité et un nombre impressionnant de grands mammifères. La zone est protégée depuis 1978, ce qui a entraîne un retour remarquable de la faune. Avec un nombre croissant d'animaux et d'oiseaux devenant moins timides et moins effrayés par les humains, un voyage à Tangjiahe permet au visiteur de voir régulièrement une grande variété d'animaux sauvages. Des espèces comme le takin, le muntjac  de Reeves,  le goral et le sanglier peuvent être observées quotidiennement, et des espèces comme l'ours noir de l'Himalaya, le cerf huppé, le caprin et la loutre d'Europe sont fréquemment repérées. Avec un peu de chance, les visiteurs pourront même apercevoir des animaux comme des pandas géants, des loups ou des léopards. La vie des oiseaux est magnifique et riche, avec de belles espèces phares chinoises comme le faisan doré et le tragopan de Temminck parmi ses principales attractions. En raison de sa diversité exceptionnelle de la faune, Tangjiahe a été choisie comme destination de la première expédition de Wild Wonders of China.

 

Fondation Iris, 40 avenue Hoche, 75008 - Paris, France