Fondation Iris

PAPUA EXPEDITION 2016-2017

VIDEOS

The second "Science and Images" expedition organized by Fondation Iris  took place in West Papua between December 2016 and January 2017. Comprising scientists and artists working on environmental monitoring in this region of great biodiversity, its primary objective was to highlight the extraordinary biodiversity of the place and to identify the dangers which threaten it. The aim of the expedition was to raise awareness about the importance of the preservation of this natural one-of-a-kind heritage.

 

MANSUAR

RAJA AMPAT

The elongated, hilly island of Mansuar, together with its western neighbour, smaller, uninhabited Kri, forms the southern side of the Dampier Strait, Raja Ampat's most popular diving area. In fact, Kri is where diving and tourism in Raja Ampat started, as it was for many years home to the islands' only dive resort.

 

Then what delightful hours I passed wandering up and down the dry river-courses, full of water-holes and rocks and fallen trees, and overshadowed by magnificent vegetation. I soon got to know every hole and rock and stump, and came up to each with cautious step and bated breath to see what treasures it would produce.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

The Malay Archipelago

BATANTA

RAJA AMPAT

Mangrove forests, at the boundary between land and sea, have the unique ability to withstand daily flooding by salt water. The trees have developed incredible coping mechanisms to survive in these extreme environmental conditions either by filtering out or excluding the salt from their tissues.  Mangrove forests provide habitat for a large variety of terrestrial and marine organisms and are said to be the nurseries of coral reefs.  Humans rely on mangroves for countless other ecosystem services such as coastal protection, water filtration and carbon fixation.

 

The coastal villages in the Raja Ampat region are taking part in a cleanup competition, an initiative organized by the local government. The result is quite remarkable as villages visited during the expedition were spotless and only very little plastic was found washed up on beaches. This kind of initiative is a great driver of change in a country which is among the top contributors of ocean plastic in the world and struggles with out of control plastic pollution.

 

The water was transparent as crystal, and tinged the rock-strewn slope which plunged steeply into its unfathomable depths with colours varying from emerald to lapis-lazuli. The sea was calm as a lake, and the glorious sun of the tropics threw a flood of golden light over all. The scene was to me inexpressibly delightful. I was in a new world, and could dream of the wonderful productions hid in those rocky forests, and in those azure abysses.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

The Malay Archipelago

WAYAG

RAJA AMPAT

Located on the border of the Pacific Ocean and only 10km North of the Equator, Wayag offers an incredible panorama of pristine beaches, turquoise water and dramatic karst formation with near-vertical walls hanging over the sea. The iconic mushroom islands are in fact the tips of mountains that have been progressively eroded for thousands of years and are continuing to subside. Like in the rest of Raja Ampat, the landscape of Wayag has been shaped by historic tectonic events.

 

The two  surgeons/naturalists  Jean Quoy and Joseph Gaimard, onboard the french frigate "Uranie" during its circumnavigation of the world (1817-1820), were the first to describe much of the marine fauna found in the Raja Ampat region including the blacktip reef shark (Carcharhinus melanopterus).

 

URANIE

RAJA AMPAT

The island of Uranie was named in memory of the passage of the French frigate Uranie during its circumnavigation of the world (1817-1820) under the command of Louis de Freycinet. The wife of the commander, Rose Freycinet (born Pinion) was also on board, disguised as a man as the presence of women was prohibited on state vessels at that time. She became the first European woman to provide an account of her circumnavigation of the globe and one of Guinea’s emblematic birds, the Pinion’s Imperial Pigeon was consequently named in her honor. The Uranie was shipwrecked on its return journey off the coast of the Falkland Islands.

 

WALLACE'S CHANNEL

RAJA AMPAT

Exploring the channel between the Waigeo and Gam islands where Wallace was famously stuck for several days during his trip from Seram to Misool. The continuity between jungle and coral reef is seamless in this narrow passage.

In such a country, and among such a people, are found these wonderful productions of Nature, the Birds of Paradise, whose exquisite beauty of form and colour and strange developments of plumage are calculated to excite the wonder and admiration of the most civilized and the most intellectual of mankind, and to furnish inexhaustible materials for study to the naturalist, and for speculation to the philosopher.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

The Malay Archipelago

WAIGEO

RAJA AMPAT

An Indonesian endemic, the Wilson's bird-of-paradise is distributed to the hill and lowland rainforests of Waigeo and Batanta islands. Males of these birds clear an area of rainforest to create a 'display court'. Then they perform an elaborate mating dance to impress a potential mate. The male usually exhibits the attractive breast shield and accompanies the mating dance with song and calls.

MISOOL

RAJA AMPAT

Misool, at the southernmost tip of the Raja Ampat region, is featuring incredible karst landscapes as well as prehistoric petroglyph rock paintings by early settlers of West Papua. It is believed that the paintings date back to a time when it was still possible to walk from Australia’s Torres Strait to the island of New Guinea across what is now the shallow, muddy Arafura Sea.

 

Incredible nature! This marine lake in Misool is home to millions of endemic jellyfish. These jellyfish (just like corals!) are involved in mutualistic relationship with zooxanthellae algae and live purely of the energy of the sun.

Many ornithologists, including Wallace's assistant Charles Allen, who spent about six months there, collected birds in Misool. Southeast of Misool, near the villages of Gamta and Magey, we went up the Gam river  in an environment particularly rich in birds. We  discovered why these tropical rainforests are so well named "rainforest"!

Misool in the Raja Ampat archipelago is located in the heart of the Coral Triangle. The region harbours the greatest marine biodiversity on Earth. At Magic Mountain the team was lucky enough to dive with several manta rays, the largest of all ray species.

Warakaraket is one of the countless karst islands found in Misool. The uninhabited island is covered in dense forest from beach to summit providing habitat for a large variety of native fauna and flora. The island is surrounded by pristine coral reefs hosting among the highest marine diversity in the world.

The country is all rocky and mountainous, covered everywhere with dense forests, offering in its swamps and precipices and serrated ridges an almost impassable barrier to the unknown interior.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

The Malay Archipelago

KITI KITI WATERFALLS

KUMAWA MOUNTAINS

A large subterranean river network runs underneath the karstic rock of the Kumawa Mountains in Western New Guinea. The summit of the mountain stands at 1,600 meters however despite the abundance of water no rivers can be found above the 300-meter mark. This lack of rivers at altitude is due to water quickly infiltrating into the karst, which as been eroded over time by wind and weather.  The team of the Fondation Iris expedition visited both extremities of the Kumawa Mountains in the East and to the West.

 

KARAWAWI BAY

KUMAWA MOUNTAINS

Karawawi Bay, protected by Cape Papisol at the foot of the Kumawa Mountains, was until very recently a virgin area very rich in biodiversity. The Fondation Iris team observed during its passage in January 2017 the first signs of deforestation.

BITSYARA BAY

TRITON BAY

Bagan are traditional fishing boats that use strong lights during the night to attract fish into their nets. The vessels are often visited by whale sharks, the gentle giants of the ocean. Whale sharks and the bagan fishermen live in harmony as the sharks are seen as a good omen. In return the fishermen feed the sharks with the by-catch caught in their nets.

For once, the reality exceeded the most glowing accounts I had ever read of the wonders of a coral sea. There is perhaps no spot in the world richer in marine productions, corals, shells and fishes.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

The Malay Archipelago

AIDUMA

TRITON BAY

The Bird’s Head Seascape is an epicenter of marine diversity with over 1,600 different species of reef fish as well as 75% of the world’s known coral species being found in the area. An extensive network of twelve Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) covering more than 3.6 million hectares was created to protect this incredible biodiversity. The Iris Strait in Triton Bay separates the mainland of West Papua and the island of Aiduma. It was named after the passage of two ships during a Dutch expedition at the beginning of the 19th century: Triton and Iris!

 

KAMBURUMI

TRITON BAY

The tasselled wobbegong (Eucrossorhinus dasypogon) is a well camouflaged, bottom-dwelling carpet shark found in shallow coral reef environments. This shark is a great example of the separation of species across the Wallace Line. The Wallace Line was defined in the 19th century by the British naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace and represents a boundary between the distribution of species of Oriental and Australian origin.  The wobbegong is part of the Australian marine fauna and is only found on the eastern side of the line (New Guinea to northern Australia).

LENGGURU AREA

TRITON BAY

The lowland rainforests of Mount Lamansiere in Triton Bay are home to a huge variety of bird species including the common paradise king fisher, the hooded butcher bird and the crowned pigeon. The lesser bird of paradise, the magnificent riffle bird and the glossy manucode (all bird of paradise species) can also be found here. An incredible soundscape resonates above the trees at dawn when the forest is caught in the early morning fog.

For millions of years the karst formations in Papua have been subjected to complex tectonic movements. As a result the Lengguru region is characterized by alternating mountain folds and deep isolated valleys. The region is an important hotspot of biodiversity concentrating a high number of endemic species on a relatively small spatial scale.

GRAND DUCHESS HELENA STRAIT

TRITON BAY

Nikolaï Mikloukho-Maklaï also known as the Moon Man (or le Papou Blanc in French), visited Triton Bay in 1874 and describes the strait between the island of Maurawa and the mainland as the ‘most beautiful landscape in all of the East Indies’. He named the passage after the Grand Duchess Helena Pavlovna in memory of the happy days spent together at her palace in Germany before his departure to New Guinea. The same type of landscape also deeply fascinated Alfred Russel Wallace on his journey across the Malay archipelago as well as the entire crew of the Fondation Iris expedition.

 

Fondation Iris, 40 avenue Hoche, 75008 - Paris, France

Fondation Iris

EXPÉDITION PAPOUASIE 2016-2017

VIDÉOS

La deuxième  expédition « Sciences et Images » de la Fondation Iris  a eu lieu en Papouasie occidentale entre décembre 2016 et janvier 2017. Réunissant scientifiques et artistes dans une démarche de veille environnementale dans ces régions du globe à forte biodiversité, son objectif principal était de mettre en valeur la biodiversité extraordinaire des régions traversées et d'identifier les dangers qui la menacent, dans le but de sensibiliser à l’importance de la conservation de ce patrimoine naturel hors du commun.

 

MANSUAR

RAJA AMPAT

L'île longue et vallonnée de Mansuar forme avec sa voisine Kri, plus petite et inhabitée,  le côté sud du détroit de Dampier. C'est la zone de plongée la plus populaire de l'archipel de Raja Ampat. Pendant de nombreuses années le seul centre de plongée de cet archipel était installé à Kri, qui est devenu un exemple pour le développement de l'écotourisme dans la région.

 

Quelles heures délicieuses j’ai pu passer à cheminer  dans les cours d'eau secs, pleins de trous d'eau, de rochers et d'arbres tombés, et recouverts par une végétation magnifique. J’ai vite appris à connaître chaque trou, chaque rocher et chaque souche, et je venais à chacun à pas feutrés et en retenant mon souffle pour voir quels trésors il produirait.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

L'Archipel Malais

BATANTA

RAJA AMPAT

Les forêts de mangroves, à la frontière entre la terre et la mer, ont la capacité unique de résister à l'immersion quotidienne dans l'eau salée. Les arbres ont développé des mécanismes d'adaptation incroyables pour survivre dans ces conditions environnementales extrêmes soit en filtrant, le sel soit en l'excluant de leurs tissus. Les forêts de mangrove fournissent un habitat à une grande variété d'organismes terrestres et marins et sont considérées comme les pépinières des récifs coralliens. Les hommes comptent sur les mangroves pour d'innombrables autres services écosystémiques tels que la protection côtière, la filtration de l'eau et la fixation du carbone.

 

Les villages côtiers de la région de Raja Ampat participent à une compétition de nettoyage, une initiative organisée par le gouvernement local. Le résultat est tout à fait remarquable puisque les villages visités pendant l'expédition étaient impeccables avec très peu de plastique échoué sur les plages. Ce type d'initiative est un grand moteur de changement dans un pays qui compte parmi les plus grands contributeurs au monde de pollution plastique dans l'océan.

 

L'eau était transparente comme le cristal, et teintait la pente rocheuse qui plongeait abruptement dans ses profondeurs insondables avec des couleurs variant de l'émeraude au lapis-lazuli. La mer était calme comme un lac, et le soleil glorieux des tropiques jetait un flot de lumière dorée sur tout le paysage. La scène était pour moi inexprimablement délicieuse. J'étais dans un monde nouveau, et je pouvais rêver des merveilleuses productions cachées dans ces forêts rocheuses, et dans ces abysses azurés.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

L'Archipel Malais

WAYAG

RAJA AMPAT

Situé à la frontière de l'océan Pacifique, à seulement 10 km au nord de l'équateur, l'archipel de Wayag offre un panorama incroyable de plages immaculées, d'eaux turquoises et de formations karstiques spectaculaires avec des murs presque verticaux surplombant la mer. Les îlots emblématiques en forme de  champignons sont en fait les sommets de montagnes érodées progressivement depuis des milliers d'années et qui continuent à s'enfoncer dans la mer.

 

Les deux médecins français Jean Quoy et Joseph Gaimard, tous deux embarqués comme naturalistes à bord de la frégate française Uranie lors de sa circumnavigation autour du monde (1817-1820), ont été les premiers à décrire une grande partie de la faune marine trouvée dans la région du Raja Ampat dont le requin de récif à pointes noires (Carcharhinus melanopterus).

 

URANIE

RAJA AMPAT

L'île d'Uranie a été nommée en mémoire du passage de la frégate française Uranie lors de sa circumnavigation du monde (1817-1820) sous le commandement de Louis de Freycinet. L'épouse du commandant, Rose Freycinet (née Pinion) était également à bord, déguisée en homme, car la présence des femmes était interdite sur les navires de l'état à cette époque. Elle est devenue la première femme européenne à rendre compte de sa circumnavigation du globe et l'un des oiseaux emblématiques de la Guinée, le Pigeon Impérial du Pignon a donc été nommé en son honneur. L'Uranie a fait naufrage lors de son voyage de retour au large des îles Falkland.

 

LE PASSAGE DE WALLACE

RAJA AMPAT

Exploration de l'étroit passage entre les îles de Gam et de Waigeo que Wallace a eu beaucoup de mal à trouver  lors de son voyage épique entre Seram à Waigeo. La continuité entre la jungle et le récif corallien est fascinante dans ce passage.

 

C’est dans un tel pays, et parmi un tel peuple, que se trouvent ces merveilles naturelles que sont les Oiseaux de Paradis, dont la beauté exquise de forme et de couleur et l'étrange développement du plumage sont faits pour exciter l’émerveillement et l'admiration des personnes les plus civilisées et les plus intellectuelles, et de fournir des matériaux inépuisables à l'étude du naturaliste et à la spéculation du philosophe.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

L'Archipel Malais

WAIGEO

RAJA AMPAT

Il est 4 heures du matin quand nous partons en quête d'un paradisier endémique de Waigeo : le paradisier républicain. Après 1/2 h de bateau dans la baie de Kabui, nous débarquons dans une petite crique creusée dans une falaise. Nous pénètrons dans la forêt doucement, en file indienne, à la lumière de nos lampes frontales, sans beaucoup parler. Nous avançons au milieu d’innombrables toiles d'araignées. Les chants d’oiseaux enflent au petit jour. Nous prenons place dans un affut à quelques mètres de la scène. Il fait encore nuit noire mais nous sommes à peine installés que le mâle arrive déjà, incroyable petite créature à la tête turquoise, au col jaune vif, à la poitrine noire et au dos rouge finissant par une double queue élastique spiralée bleue.

 

MISOOL

RAJA AMPAT

Misool, à l'extrémité sud de la région de Raja Ampat, présente des paysages karstiques incroyables ainsi que des peintures rupestres préhistoriques réalisées par les premiers colons de Papouasie occidentale. On croit que les peintures remontent à une époque où il était encore possible de marcher du détroit de Torres en Australie à l'île de Nouvelle-Guinée à travers ce qui est maintenant devenu la mer d'Arafura, peu profonde et boueuse.

 

Incroyable nature! Ce lac marin à Misool abrite des millions de méduses endémiques. Ces méduses (tout comme les coraux) sont impliquées dans une relation mutualiste avec les algues zooxanthelles et vivent uniquement de l'énergie du soleil.

 

De nombreux ornithologues, dont Charles Allen l'assistant de Wallace qui passa environ six mois sur Misool, y ont fait des collectes d’oiseaux. Au sud-est de Misool, près des villages de Gamta et Magey, nous remontons la rivière Gam dans un environnement particulièrement riche en oiseaux. Nous y découvrirons pourquoi ces forêts tropicales humides sont si bien nommées "rainforest" (forêts de pluie) en anglais!

 

Misool dans l'archipel de Raja Ampat est situé au coeur du Triangle de Corail. La région abrite la plus grande biodiversité marine sur Terre. À Magic Mountain, l'équipe a eu la chance de plonger avec plusieurs raies manta, la plus grande de toutes les espèces de raies.

Warakaraket est l'une des innombrables îles karstiques de Misool. L'île inhabitée est couverte de forêt dense de la plage au sommet, offrant un habitat à une grande variété de faune et de flore indigènes. Elle est entourée de récifs coralliens vierges accueillant parmi la plus haute diversité marine du monde.

 

Le pays est très rocheux et montagneux, couvert partout de forêts denses, offrant dans ses marécages, ses précipices et ses crêtes en dents de scie une barrière presque infranchissable vers l'intérieur inexploré.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

L'Archipel Malais

LES CHUTES DE KITI KITI

MONTS KUMAWA

Un grand réseau de rivières souterraines s'étend sous la roche karstique des monts Kumawa, dans l'ouest de la Nouvelle-Guinée. Le sommet de la montagne se trouve à 1 600 mètres mais, malgré l'abondance de l'eau, aucune rivière ne peut être trouvée au-dessus de la ligne des 300 mètres. Ce manque de rivières en altitude est dû à l'infiltration rapide de l'eau dans le karst, érodé au fil du temps par le vent et les intempéries. L'équipe de l'expédition de la Fondation Iris a visité les deux extrémités des monts Kumawa à l'est et à l'ouest.

 

BAIE DE KARAWAWI

MONTS KUMAWA

La baie de Karawawi, protégée par le Cap Papisol au pied des monts Kumawa, était jusqu’à très récemment une zone vierge très riche en biodiversité. L'équipe de la Fondation Iris a observé lors de son passage en janvier 2017 les premiers signes de déforestation.

BAIE DE BITSYARA

BAIE DE TRITON

Les Bagans sont des bateaux de pêche traditionnels qui utilisent de fortes lumières pendant la nuit pour attirer les poissons dans leurs filets. Les navires sont souvent visités par des requins-baleines, les doux géants de l'océan. Les requins-baleines et les pêcheurs  vivent en harmonie car ces requins sont considérés comme de bon augure. En retour, les pêcheurs les nourrissent avec les prises accessoires capturées dans leurs filets.

 

La réalité dépassait les rapports les plus élogieux que j'avais jamais lus sur les merveilles des mers de corail. Il n'y a peut- être aucun endroit dans le monde plus riche en productions marines, coraux, coquillages et poissons.

 

Alfred Russel Wallace

L'Archipel Malais

AIDUMA

BAIE DE TRITON

La péninsule de la Tête d'Oiseau en Papouasie occidentale est un épicentre de  diversité marine avec plus de 1600 espèces différentes de poissons de récif ainsi que 75% des espèces connues de coraux dans le monde. Un vaste réseau de douze aires marines protégées couvrant plus de 3,6 millions d'hectares a été créé pour protéger cette incroyable biodiversité. Le détroit d'Iris sépare la partie continentale de la Papouasie occidentale et l'île d'Aiduma dans la baie de Triton. Il a été nommé après le passage de deux navires lors d'une expédition hollandaise au début du 19ème siècle: Triton et Iris!

 

KAMBURUMI

BAIE DE TRITON

Cet étrange habitant des récifs coralliens peu profonds est un excellent exemple de la séparation des espèces à travers la ligne de Wallace. Il fait partie de la faune marine australienne et se trouve seulement sur le côté est de cette ligne. Il s’agit du bien nommé requin-tapis barbu (Eucrossorhinus dasypogon), maître ès camouflage.

 

RÉGION DE LENGGURU

BAIE DE TRITON

Les forêts pluviales sur les flancs du mont Lamansière dans la baie de Triton, abritent une grande variété d'espèces d'oiseaux, comme le martin-chasseur à longs brins, le cassican à tête noire et le pigeon couronné. Le paradisier petit-émeraude, le magnifique paradisier de Victoria et le paradisier noir peuvent également être trouvés ici. Un paysage sonore incroyable résonne au-dessus des arbres à l'aube lorsque la forêt est encore prise dans le brouillard matinal.

 

Pendant des millions d'années, les formations karstiques de Papouasie ont été soumises à des mouvements tectoniques complexes. En conséquence, la région de Lengguru est caractérisée par l'alternance de plissements montagneux et de profondes vallées isolées. La région est un point névralgique important de la biodiversité qui concentre un grand nombre d'espèces endémiques sur une échelle spatiale relativement petite.

 

DÉTROIT DE LA GRANDE DUCHESSE HÉLÈNE

BAIE DE TRITON

Nikolaï Mikloukho-Maklaï, surnommé le "Papou Blanc", a visité la baie de Triton en 1874 et décrit le détroit entre l'île de Maurawa et le continent comme le « plus beau paysage de toutes les Indes orientales ». Il a nommé ce passage le détroit de la Grande Duchesse  Hélène en souvenir des jours heureux passés ensemble à son palais en Allemagne avant son départ en Nouvelle Guinée. Le même type de paysage a également profondément fasciné Alfred Russel Wallace lors de son voyage à travers l'archipel malais ainsi que tout l'équipage de l'expédition de la Fondation Iris.

 

Fondation Iris, 40 avenue Hoche, 75008 - Paris, France